Tottenham to play friendly against Schalke at White Hart Lane

Michael Kienzler

Spurs will round out their preseason friendly fixtures with a match against Die Königsblauen.

Every preseason, Tottenham Hotspur usually plays at least one high profile friendly match at White Hart Lane, and often it's right before the season kicks off. This year is no exception: today the official Spurs site announced that Tottenham will host German club FC Schalke 04 in a friendly in early August.

If there's a Bundesliga equivalent to Tottenham Hotspur, it might be Schalke. They're always hanging around the Champions League qualification slots and frequently qualify, but don't usually have the resources to challenge Bayern Munich and Dortmund. This past season, Schalke finished third in the Bundesliga behind Bayern and Dortmund, meaning they automatically qualified for the UCL group stages. They're a quality team. This should be a nice pre-season test for Spurs before the Premier League season kicks off on Saturday, August 16.

Schalke is also the Bundesliga team of choice of our own Messr. McCauley and many of you, I suspect, which is cool.

The match will be held on Saturday, August 9 at 5:30 p.m. London time.

Here are the rest of Spurs' confirmed friendly matches:

  • Saturday, July 19: Seattle Sounders (Century Link Field, Seattle), 1 pm Seattle time, 9 pm GMT
  • Wednesday, July 23: Toronto FC (Toronto), 7 pm Toronto time, midnight GMT
  • Saturday, July 26: Chicago Fire (Toyota Park, Chicago), 7:00 pm Chicago time, 1 am GMT
  • Saturday, August 2: Celtic (Helsinki Olympic Stadium, Finland), 4:30 pm Finland time, 2:30 pm GMT
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Cartilage Free Captain

You must be a member of Cartilage Free Captain to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Cartilage Free Captain. You should read them.

Join Cartilage Free Captain

You must be a member of Cartilage Free Captain to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Cartilage Free Captain. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker