2014 World Cup: Daily notes and open thread for June 19

Richard Heathcote

Let's talk about the cup of the world.

For the second day in a row, the games get progressively worse as they go on. Who schedules this stuff? What's wrong with you?

The games

Colombia vs. Ivory Coast - 12 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. UK: Now that Didier Drogba doesn't play for Chelsea, I absolutely adore him.

England vs. Uruguay - 3 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. UK: Chances are, they won't both completely embarrass themselves.

Japan vs. Greece - 6 p.m. ET, 11 p.m. UK: Crap + an insane goal by Honda.

Any Spurs players involved?

Nope. Womp womp.

How about former Spurs?

My dude Didier Zokora.

Any transfer targets or rival players I'm probably interested in?

We're linked to Wilfried Bony, for some reason. Swansea paid £12m for him last summer, so they'll want to make a significant profit. Buying him would be dumb. I really can't imagine that we'd buy anyone who's playing in today's games, actually.

As for rivals, Luis Suarez and the whole England team, but I'm sure a lot of you are pretending to like England players today.

What cool things has SB Nation posted today?

Glad you asked!

What happened in Brazil on Wednesday?
Ryan Rosenblatt: Brazil travel diary
Andi Thomas: Spain gambled on their brilliance and lost
Kirsten Schlewitz: 3 reasons we're falling in love with Chile
Graham MacAree: Spain, Xavi and the end of a dynasty

How do I watch these games?

All three games are on ESPN in America. They're all on CBC in Canada. In the UK, the first and last games are on BBC while the middle one is on ITV.

In the US, all of these games are online at the Watch ESPN and Univision En Vivo services. They're on ITV Player/BBC player in the UK and CBC Sports in Canada. You can find other listings at LiveSoccerTV.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Cartilage Free Captain

You must be a member of Cartilage Free Captain to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Cartilage Free Captain. You should read them.

Join Cartilage Free Captain

You must be a member of Cartilage Free Captain to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Cartilage Free Captain. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker