clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Football Open Thread: Tyne-Wear Derby, Arsenal-Liverpool, Bundesliga, And More

New, comments
LONDON, ENGLAND - JULY 30:  Samir Nasri of Arsenal looks on ahead of the Emirates Cup match between New York Red Bulls and Paris St Germain at the Emirates Stadium on July 30, 2011 in London, England.  (Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)
LONDON, ENGLAND - JULY 30: Samir Nasri of Arsenal looks on ahead of the Emirates Cup match between New York Red Bulls and Paris St Germain at the Emirates Stadium on July 30, 2011 in London, England. (Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)
Getty Images

This Saturday is a good heavy day of football, but it doesn't include Tottenham Hotspur. If you live in the United States, you had to get up at the crack of dawn for today's two big English Premier League matches, Arsenal-Liverpool and Sunderland-Newcastle. I am up at the crack of dawn for this, because I am a crazy person.

After those games, there's a full slate of 10:00 am ET/3:00 pm BST fixtures in the EPL. There's also a great set of 9:30 am ET fixtures in the Bundesliga, with the highlight probably being Bayern Munich-Hamburg SV. Chelsea vs. West Brom starts at 12:30 pm ET/5:30 pm BST.

As always, I'll be part of the awesome team covering all of these games over at SB Nation Soccer. I'll also be sitting in this thread for most of the day, hopefully chatting it up with you guys. Feel free to talk about whatever football you're watching, since you can't talk about us today.

Oh, and today, I don't care about the thing you're not really supposed to post hint hint. Chat away!