clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014 World Cup: Daily notes and open thread for June 14

New, comments

Come hang out with CFC during a full day of soccer.

Mark Kolbe

Yesterday was absolutely amazing. Today probably isn't going to top it, but at least there are four games. Even if two are absolute stinkers, we're going to get some good footall.

The games

Colombia vs. Greece - 12 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. UK: No Falcao, no party? Wrong. Teofilo Gutierrez parties harder than anyone you've ever met.

Uruguay vs. Costa Rica - 3 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. UK: Luis Suarez is probably going to sit at the start, but expect him to come into the game if this doesn't go smoothly.

England vs. Italy, 6 p.m. ET, 11 p.m. UK: The clear headline attraction. Maybe this time England will remember to close down Andrea Pirlo?

Japan vs. Ivory coast, 9 p.m. ET, 1 a.m. UK: Good lord why is this so late

Any Spurs players involved?

Nope. Womp womp.

How about former Spurs?

Didier Zokora! I think I like him a lot more than most people did.

Any transfer targets or rival players I'm probably interested in?

Can I interest you in an Eder Alvarez Balanta? I don't think he'll start for Colombia today, but he's pretty awesome. A big European team should probably go in for him soon, since I'd expect River Plate to sell at a fairly reasonable price.

The only guy playing today who we've been genuinely linked to is Fredy Guarin, who I still don't think is a great fit. My pick of the day for potential transfer target no one is talking about is Japanese midfielder Hotaru Yamaguchi, who I like a lot.

As for rivals, Joel Campbell starts for Costa Rica today. You'll learn to hate him in a couple years.

What cool things has SB Nation posted today?

Glad you asked!

What happened in Brazil on Friday
Spain and the anatomy of a meltdown
Chile's team is flawed, but fun
England vs. Italy preview
Uruguay vs. Costa Rica preview
Colombia vs. Greece preview
Ivory Coast vs. Japan preview

How do I watch these games?

The two early games are on ABC in America and the late games are on ESPN. They're all on CBC in Canada. In the UK, they're staggered. First and third game on BBC, second and fourth on ITV.

In the US, all of these games are online at the Watch ESPN and Univision En Vivo services. They're on ITV Player/BBC player in the UK and CBC Sports in Canada. You can find other listings at LiveSoccerTV.