clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014 World Cup: Daily notes and open thread for June 16

New, comments

Real recognize real, don't tread on this.

Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

If you haven't noticed, there are a lot of American commenters on this site, and I cover the United States men's and women's national teams for SB Nation. It's kind of a big day for us

The games

Germany vs. Portugal - 12 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. UK: A really, really potentially awesome game.

Iran vs. Nigeria - 3 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. UK: Over/under: 0.5 goals.

USA vs. Ghana - 6 p.m. ET, 11 p.m. UK: Oh sweet merciful Jesus, please hold me.

Any Spurs players involved?

None today, unfortunately.

How about former Spurs?

Helder Postiga! He's one of the worst signings that Spurs have ever made. Kevin-Prince Boateng should start for Ghana. And Joao Moutinho would be a Spur if it weren't for THAT DANG CHEAPSKATE LEVY.

Oh, and I forgot, #DONTTREAD.

Tumblr_liqmae7z3c1qb5sua

Any transfer targets or rival players I'm probably interested in?

We'll probably get linked to Nani even though we shouldn't be. Same goes for Victor Moses. If Dortmund are strangely interested in selling, I'd love to have Erik Durm. This is definitely a day light on players who would be good and realistic signings for Spurs.

As for rivals, Germany's pretty heavy on them. They have three Arsenal players and Chelsea's Andre Schürrle. Chelsea prospect Kenneth Omeruo starts for Nigeria, as well as the aforementioned Mr. Moses. And Nani counts, since Manchester United is a competitive rival now.

What cool things has SB Nation posted today?

Glad you asked!

What happened in Brazil on Sunday
American fans say f--k it, it's the World Cup
Nigeria chasing off the ghosts of 1994
Drogba wins over a Brazilian crowd
Analysis of Argentina-Bosnia

How do I watch these games?

All three games are on ESPN in America. They're all on CBC in Canada. In the UK, the first game is on ITV and the last two are on BBC.

In the US, all of these games are online at the Watch ESPN and Univision En Vivo services. They're on ITV Player/BBC player in the UK and CBC Sports in Canada. You can find other listings at LiveSoccerTV.