clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014 World Cup: Daily notes and open thread for June 17

New, comments

Let's World Cup, y'all.

Shaun Botterill

USA USA USA USA USA USA.

There's more football on today but I thought I'd just remind you that USA USA USA.

The games

Belgium vs. Algeria - 12 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. UK: Lots of Spurs. Don't think Algeria will be a pushover.

Brazil vs. Mexico - 3 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. UK: Today's marquee game.

Russia vs. South Korea - 6 p.m. ET, 11 p.m. UK: South Korea's warm-up friendlies were BAD.

Any Spurs players involved?

Tons. Jan Vertonghen, Mousa Dembele and Nacer Chadli all start for Belgium. Nabil Bentaleb starts for Algeria. Paulinho will almost certainly start for Brazil.

How about former Spurs?

GIO GIO GIO GIO GIO GIO GIO.

Any transfer targets or rival players I'm probably interested in?

We should have signed Son Heung-Min last summer, but didn't. I'd still take him, even at an inflated price. On the evidence of his first game, Hector Herrera is ready to take a step up from Porto. We've been linked to Yacine Brahimi, who is basically just the same thing as Lewis Holtby. I would like to sign either of the left backs on Russia's squad.

As for rivals, Thomas Vermaelen has been dropped for Daniel van Buyten, so LOL. The three Chelsea Belgians start. Oscar will start for Brazil and Willian could play in Hulk's place. Chicharito is unlikely to start.

What cool things has SB Nation posted today?

Glad you asked!

What happened in Brazil on Monday?
Graham MacAree: Jermaine Jones was the U.S. hero
Spencer Hall's 10 points on the U.S. win
Me: Winning ugly is super American
Andi Thomas: The World Cup needs more violent soccer

How do I watch these games?

All three games are on ESPN in America. They're all on CBC in Canada. In the UK, the first game is on ITV and the last two are on BBC.

In the US, all of these games are online at the Watch ESPN and Univision En Vivo services. They're on ITV Player/BBC player in the UK and CBC Sports in Canada. You can find other listings at LiveSoccerTV.