clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014 World Cup: daily notes and open thread for June 20

New, comments

The Cup of Worlds continues today.

Drawlio Joca

Finally, some matches that look halfway decent. Thank you based World Cup scheduling god.

The games

Italy vs. Costa Rica- 12 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. UK: This game has implications for England – they can still qualify if Italy draws or beats the Ticos. Don't even care. ¡Vamos a Costa Rica! ¡PURA VIDA!

Switzerland vs. France - 3 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. UK: This just might be the best game of the day.

Honduras vs. Ecuador - 6 p.m. ET, 11 p.m. UK: Nobody cares. Go get some dinner and/or sleep.

Any Spurs players involved?

Hugo Lloris starts in goal for France. Bless that beautiful, beautiful man.

How about former Spurs?

Wilson Palacios played for Spurs a few years ago, but he got red-carded and is suspended for this match. Sad trombone.

Any transfer targets or rival players I'm probably interested in?

We're linked to damn near everybody, so it's kind of hard to say. Fabian Schaer is a nice player and I'd like to have him. We're also linked with his Swiss teammate Valon Behrami. We've been linked with France's Loïc Remy for freaking forever. That's about it.

As for rival players, France has a few hateable EPL players you'll recognize like Patrice Evra, Laurent Koscielny, and Olivier Giroud.

What cool things has SB Nation posted today?

Glad you asked!

This is not the Bosnia you're looking for -- Outstanding longform article by Krsten Schlewitz.
Ivory Coast mourns the death of Toure brother
Concussions in Brazil remain a contentious topic
Ryan Rosenblatt's Brazil travel diary

How do I watch these games?

All three games are on ESPN in America. They're all on CBC in Canada. In the UK, the first and last games are on BBC while the middle one is on ITV.

In the US, all of these games are online at the Watch ESPN and Univision En Vivo services. They're on ITV Player/BBC player in the UK and CBC Sports in Canada. You can find other listings at LiveSoccerTV.