clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Harry Kane wins PFA Young Player of the Year

He's one of our own! He's one of our own!

Nigel Roddis/Getty Images

In news that is surprising to absolutely nobody, Harry Kane was named the Professional Football Association Young Player of the Year in a ceremony in London on Sunday evening. It is the latest in a string of accolades for the young English striker.

Kane exploded onto the English football scene, quickly moving from a little-known Tottenham academy graduate to one of the best strikers in the Premier League this season. After making his season debut for Spurs in November, he has gone on to score 30 goals in all competitions, the first 30-goal striker for Spurs since Gary Lineker in 1992. His 20 league goals puts him second in the Premier League scoring leaders list (behind Sergio Aguero with 21), despite only playing first team football for six months.

The Young Player of the Year award is given to the most outstanding Premier League player under the age of 23. The voting is done by fellow Premier League players, and the award is considered to be a prestigious honor as it is awarded by the winner's peers.

Other Tottenham players who have won the Young Player of the Year award include Gareth Bale, Kyle Walker, and Glenn Hoddle.

Kane also has the possibility of winning the overall PFA Player of the Year award, given to the most outstanding player in the Premier League, regardless of age, but Chelsea's Eden Hazard is heavily tipped to win the main award.