clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tottenham Hotspur announces traveling team for post-season tour

The season is over, but there are still matches to play.

Chris Brunskill/Getty Images

Tottenham Hotspur's season ended on Sunday with a 1-0 win at Everton, but that doesn't mean that there aren't still Spurs matches yet to watch. Tottenham will depart soon for a post-season tour to the opposite side of the world, and today the club released its traveling squad:

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris, Luke McGee, Michel Vorm

Defenders: Eric Dier, Federico Fazio, Danny Rose, Jan Vertonghen, Kyle Walker-Peters, DeAndre Yedlin

Midfielders: Nabil Bentaleb, Tom Carroll, Nacer Chadli, Mousa Dembele, Christian Eriksen, Erik Lamela, Ryan Mason, Josh Onomah, Benji Stambouli, Andros Townsend, Grant Ward, Harry Winks

Forwards: Harry Kane, Roberto Soldado

There are a couple of interesting things to note about this squad. First, Tom Carroll has returned from his successful loan spell at Swansea and will participate in the tour, which is kind of neat. Second, this really puts in perspective how many midfielders Spurs have.

Finally, there's this note at the end of the article: "Younes Kaboul, Vlad Chiriches and Paulinho have been given permission to remain at the Training Centre, while Emmanuel Adebayor and Etienne Capoue have been granted leave to return home for family reasons." I'm not exactly sure what the wording of this statement means, but Kaboul, Chiriches, and Paulinho might be staying home because they have been widely tipped to leave the club this summer. If you're a conspiracy theorist, this might imply that there's something in the works for these three. Adebayor and Capoue are on compassionate leave, but both of them are also linked away from Spurs.

Spurs will take on a Malaysia XI side this Wednesday, May 27 in Kuala Lumpur, before heading to Australia to face A-league squad Sydney FC on Saturday, May 30.