clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DeAndre Yedlin named to Jurgen Klinsmann's Gold Cup roster

Spurs' young right back is expected to play an important role in this summer's regional FIFA competition.

Simon Hofmann/Getty Images

The United States Soccer federation released the names of the 23 men who will participate in this summer's Gold Cup, and as expected DeAndre Yedlin was named to the final squad by manager Jurgen Klinsmann.

Yedlin is in the midst of a busy summer of international competition, having already featured twice in USA's impressive friendly wins against the Netherlands and Germany in Europe earlier this month. Both times, Yedlin came in as an impact substitute late in the game and as a right wing player as opposed to his usual role as a right-sided fullback. Timmy Chandler, who started both European friendlies at right back for USA, was also named to the roster, so it's unclear if Klinsmann will continue to use Yedlin as a super-sub to run at tired defenses or if he will have more of a starting role in the competition.

The Gold Cup is CONCACAF's version of the European Championships. Teams from North and Central America will compete in group and knock-out stages, and the winner will enter a playoff match against the United States, winners of the 2013 Gold Cup, for the right to participate in the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia. USA and Mexico are expected to again duke it out for the title, though World Cup 2014 spoilers Costa Rica could also contend.

The full roster for USA's Gold Cup squad is below.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

DEFENDERS (7): Ventura Alvarado (Club America), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)