clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Christian Eriksen wins Danish football award for third consecutive year

International honors for our Danish dynamo.

Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

Tottenham Hotspur midfielder and Denmark international Christian Eriksen received a singular honor this weekend after he was again named Danish Football Player of the Year. This was the third consecutive year that Eriksen has won the award, making him the only Danish footballer ever to do so.

Eriksen finished ahead of Leicester keeper Kaspar Schmeichel and Fenerbahce center-back Simon Kjaer. With this award, Eriksen is now tied with Peter Schmeichel, who won the award three times in his long career, and is one award behind Brian Laudrup. The Danish Football Player of the Year was first awarded in 1961.

Denmark may be a smallish footballing nation, but it has turned out a number of excellent footballers, and Christian is definitely one of them. This is a pretty fantastic achievement. Congratulations to Christian!