clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tottenham legend Ardiles accepts PFA award on behalf of Dele Alli

It's the fourth time in the past five years that the award has gone to a Tottenham player.

Soccerex - Manchester: Day Three Photo by Dave Thompson/Getty Images

Argentinian Tottenham Hotspur legend Ossie Ardiles was on hand to accept the PFA Young Player of the Year award on behalf of Dele Alli. Alli was selected as the winner, but did not attend the ceremony at the Grosvenor House on Sunday night.

Tottenham players were prohibited from attending the ceremony by manager Mauricio Pochettino as the event took place less than 24 hours before Spurs' critical match against West Bromwich Albion.

Alli did record a video message thanking Ossie for accepting the award in his absence, and even ended the video with his trademark cheeky wave.

Alli's award makes it the fourth time in five years that a Tottenham player has won the PFA Young Player of the Year trophy: Kyle Walker won in 2012, Gareth Bale in 2013, and Harry Kane in 2015.

Elsewhere, Leicester's Riyad Mahrez won the prestigious Player of the Year award, over a shortlist that included Harry Kane, N'Golo Kante, Dimitri Payet, Mesut Ozil, and Jamie Vardy. Mahrez has been outstanding this season, scoring 17 goals and dishing out 11 assists.

Kane, Alli, Danny Rose, and Toby Alderweireld were also named to the PFA Team of the Year, tying Leicester with four players represented on the squad.