clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Tottenham players named to preliminary England EURO 2016 squad

Kane, Alli, Dier, Walker, and Rose all named to the 26-man squad that will participate in three pre-EURO warmup matches later this month.

Germany v England - International Friendly Photo by Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

The Football Association released England manager Roy Hodgson's 26-man preliminary squad for this summer's European Championship, and as far as Tottenham Hotspur players go it's the expected outcome. Hodgson named five Spurs players to the squad: Harry Kane, Dele Alli, Eric Dier, Kyle Walker, and Danny Rose.

Hodgson is expected to roll with this expanded squad through three upcoming international friendlies leading up to the EUROs in France, which begin in June. England will play against Turkey on Sunday, May 22, Australia on Friday, May 27, and fellow qualifiers Portugal on Thursday, June 2.

The biggest surprise for England fans is the inclusion of Arsenal's perennially-injured midfielder Jack Wilshire, former Tottenham player Andros Townsend, and Manchester United's 18-year old striker Marcus Rashford into the preliminary squad. All three will be presumably given opportunities to earn a seat on the final squad in the coming weeks. Hodgson will need to trim his team down to a final 23-man squad by ten days before kickoff of the EUROs.

Meanwhile, two young Tottenham Hotspur players were also named to England's U19 squad today. Kyle Walker-Peters and Josh Onomah will represent their country in two warm-up matches in Mexico later this month ahead of the U19 EURO Championships, held in Germany in July.