clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tottenham Hotspur international roundup

New, comments

Here’s where Tottenham’s stars are playing their football this week.

Belgium v Russia: Group H - 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

Lost amidst the chaos of the transfer window deadline day was the news that it’s (groan) the international break, and that any footballers who play for their countries are now scattered thither and yon.

Tottenham Hotspur is no exception. And while some of Spurs’ players have already played matches, it’s still worth pointing out where some of them are, so when they get inevitably injured, we’ll know who’s name to shout to the heavens when we shake our fists to the sky.

Here’s a list of the Tottenham Hotspur players currently with their national teams on the international break. [Edit: Updated Sat. September 3]


Argentina: Erik Lamela

  • vs. Uruguay (WCQ): Fri. Sept. 2, 12:30a BST, Thurs. Sept. 1 7:30p ET
  • @ Venezuela (WCQ): Wed. Sept. 7, 12a BST, Tues. Sept. 6, 7:00p ET

Austria: Kevin Wimmer

  • @ Rep. Georgia (WCQ): Mon. Sept. 5, 5:00p BST, noon ET

Belgium: Mousa Dembele, Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen

  • vs. Spain (friendly): Thurs. Sept. 1, 7:45p BST, 2:45p ET
  • vs. Cyprus (WCQ): Tues. Sept. 6, 7:45p BST, 2:45p ET

Denmark: Christian Eriksen

  • vs. Armenia (WCQ): Sun. Sept. 4, 5:00p BST, noon ET

England: Danny Rose, Harry Kane, Dele Alli, Eric Dier, Kyle Walker (U21: Josh Onomah, Kyle Walker-Peters)

  • @ Slovakia (WCQ): Sun. Sept. 4, 5 pm BST, noon ET
  • U21 vs. Brazil (friendly): Tues.. Sept. 6, 2:30a BST, 7:30a ET

France: Moussa Sissoko

  • @ Belarus (WCQ): Tues. Sept. 6, 7:45p BST, 2:45p ET

Kenya: Victor Wanyama

  • @ Zambia (ACNQ): Sun. Sept. 4, 4:30p BST, 11:30p ET

Netherlands: Vincent Janssen

  • vs. Greece (friendly): Thurs. Sept. 1, 7:45p BST, 2:45p ET
  • @ Sweden (WCQ): Tues. Sept. 6, 7:45p BST, 2:45p ET

Spain U21: Pau Lopez

  • @ Sweden (U21 Euro Qual.): Mon. Sept. 5, 5:45p BST, 12:45p ET

Wales: Ben Davies

  • vs. Moldova (WCQ): Mon. Sept. 5, 7:45p BST, 2:45p ET