clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Two Tottenham home fixtures in March rescheduled for television coverage

New, comments

Spurs’ home matches against Everton and Southampton are being moved to Sundays and will be televised in the UK.

Everton v Tottenham Hotspur - Premier League Photo by Chris Brunskill/Getty Images

Adjust your calendars! Two Tottenham Hotspur home matches have had their original dates switched from Saturdays to Sundays in March.

Spurs announced via Twitter that their match against Everton has been moved from Saturday, March 4 to Sunday, March 5 at 1:30 pm UK (8:30 am ET). In addition, the home match against Southampton has been moved from Saturday, March 18 to Sunday, March 19, with kickoff at 2:15 pm UK (9:15 am ET).

That’s bad news for those of us in the former Colonies who like going to church, but good news for English fans who like watching their club play on television: both matches have been selected for TV coverage and will be shown on Sky Sports.

Meanwhile, the Liverpool Echo posits that the decision to move the Everton match might have been impacted by a big boxing match: Tony Bellew and David Haye are set for a WBC Cruiserweight title bout on Saturday, March 4 at the O2 Arena. Not being a boxing fan or fully understanding the sport’s appeal in the UK, I have no idea if it’s true, but it might make some sort of sense.

Tottenham drew Everton at Goodison Park 1-1 in the opening match of the season and blew by Southampton 4-1 on December 28 at St. Mary’s.