clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Tottenham players named in PFA Team of the Year

Kyle Walker, Danny Rose, Dele Alli, and Harry Kane get top honors

Tottenham Hotspur v West Bromwich Albion - Premier League Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

The Professional Footballer’s Association released its Team of the Year for this season, and Tottenham Hotspur is, as expected, well represented. Harry Kane, Dele Alli, Kyle Walker, and Danny Rose were all named to the PFA’s list of most outstanding players.

This is the second consecutive Team of the Year award for Dele and Rose, and the third straight for Kane. In this year’s team, Spurs are tied with Chelsea for the club with the most players represented — both clubs have four players.

While the four Hotspurs on the team are well deserving, I confess to being a little surprised that Toby Alderweireld, widely considered the best central defender in the league this season, did not get the nod. Neither did Christian Eriksen, which is weird. But that’s me being greedy. It’s also a testament to what a season Danny Rose has had this year that he makes the cut while missing the past few months due to injury.

The Team of the Year is voted on by members of the Professional Footballers’ Association, which has members on over 100 clubs across the UK in the Premier League, Football League, and WSL.

Here’s the full list of winners. Congratulations to Harry, Dele, Kyle, and Danny!

PFA Team of the Year (2017)

  • Goalkeeper — David De Gea, Manchester United
  • Left back — Danny Rose, Tottenham Hotspur
  • Center back — Gary Cahill, Chelsea
  • Center back — David Luiz, Chelsea
  • Right back — Kyle Walker, Tottenham Hotspur
  • Midfielder — Dele Alli, Tottenham Hotspur
  • Midfielder — N’Golo Kante, Chelsea
  • Midfielder — Eden Hazard, Chelsea
  • Midfielder — Sadio Mane, Liverpool
  • Forward — Harry Kane, Tottenham Hotspur
  • Forward — Romelu Lukaku, Everton