clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dele Alli wins PFA Young Player of the Year

It’s the second straight award for Dele, and the fifth time in six years a Spurs player has won this award.

Chelsea v Tottenham Hotspur - The Emirates FA Cup Semi-Final Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

The Professional Footballers Association annual awards were held tonight at the Grosvenor House in London, and as expected, Tottenham Hotspur’s Dele Alli took home a major prize: the 2017 PFA Young Player of the Year Award.


It’s the second straight YPOY award for Alli, and it’s the fifth time in six seasons that a Tottenham Hotspur player has gone home with the award. Harry Kane won in 2015, Gareth Bale in 2013, and Kyle Walker won in 2012. The only non-Spurs player to win since 2012 was Chelsea’s Eden Hazard, and he’s pretty good too, I guess.

Dele has scored 21 goals in all competitions this season, sixteen of them in the Premier League, and there are still six games to go. It’s been another fantastic season for Dele, and hopefully there are many more to come with him in a Tottenham shirt. Dele joins Robbie Fowler, Ryan Giggs, and Wayne Rooney as winners of multiple YPOTY awards.

Harry Kane came in second in the voting, while Everton’s Romelu Lukaku was third.

Congrats to Dele!