clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tottenham to open 2017-18 Premier League season at Newcastle

New, comments

No, nothing bad happened the last time Spurs played at Newcastle. Why do you ask?

Newcastle United v Tottenham Hotspur - Premier League Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images

It’s Fixture Day! The schedule for the 2017-18 Premier League was released today, an always exciting time that allows for fans of their favorite Premier League clubs to start obsessing and worrying months before balls are actually kicked.

Tottenham Hotspur fans are no exception. Spurs will open their season in the wilderness at newly promoted Newcastle United, before hosting the defending champions Chelsea at Wembley Stadium in week 2.

As we do every season, first let’s take a look at the full schedule. Then let’s break it down.

2017-18 Tottenham Hotspur Schedule

Date Team Time
Date Team Time
August
Sat 12 Aug @ Newcastle 15:00
Sat 19 Aug CHELSEA 15:00
Sat 26 Aug BURNLEY 15:00
September
Sat 9 Sep @ Everton 15:00
Sat 16 Sep SWANSEA CITY 15:00
Sat 23 Sep @ West Ham 15:00
Sat 30 Sep @ Huddersfield Town 15:00
October
Sat 14 Oct BOURNEMOUTH 15:00
Sat 21 Oct LIVERPOOL 15:00
Sat 28 Oct @ Manchester United 15:00
November
Sat 4 Nov CRYSTAL PALACE 15:00
Sat 18 Nov @ Arsenal 15:00
Sat 25 Nov WEST BROM 15:00
Tue 28 Nov @ Leicester 19:45
December
Sat 2 Dec @ Watford 15:00
Sat 9 Dec STOKE CITY 15:00
Wed 13 Dec BRIGHTON & HOVE ALBION 20:00
Sat 16 Dec @ Manchester City 15:00
Sat 23 Dec @ Burnley 15:00
Tue 26 Dec SOUTHAMPTON 15:00
Sat 30 Dec WEST HAM 15:00
January
Mon 1 Jan @ Swansea City 15:00
Sat 13 Jan EVERTON 15:00
Sat 20 Jan @ Southampton 15:00
Wed 31 Jan MANCHESTER UNITED 20:00
February
Sat 3 Feb @ Liverpool 15:00
Sat 10 Feb ARSENAL 15:00
Sat 24 Feb @ Crystal Palace 15:00
March
Sat 3 Mar HUDDERSFIELD TOWN 15:00
Sat 10 Mar @ Bournemouth 15:00
Sat 17 Mar NEWCASTLE 15:00
Sat 31 Mar @ Chelsea 15:00
April
Sat 7 Apr @ Stoke City 15:00
Sat 14 Apr MANCHESTER CITY 15:00
Sat 21 Apr @ Brighton & Hove Albion 15:00
Sat 28 Apr WATFORD 15:00
May
Sat 5 May @ West Brom 15:00
Sun 13 May LEICESTER CITY 15:00

Spurs open the season away... again

Death, taxes, Tottenham Hotspur starting the league season away. For the seventh consecutive year, Tottenham will play their first fixture on the road, this time against Newcastle. You have to go back to the 2010-11 season, when Spurs opened against Manchester City, to find the last time Tottenham played their first league match at home. In fact, Spurs will have opened the league twice against Newcastle before they open the season with a match in front of a friendly crowd, and they’ve only started nine of their last 27 week 1 fixtures at home.

I don’t know if this season’s fixture is by design or not. With Spurs playing at Wembley this coming season there could be scheduling reasons why they are again away, but holy crap. After a certain point you have to wonder if there’s something fishy going on, or if the Premier League computer just hates us.

Also, this will be the first time Spurs will travel to St. James’ Park since, y’know, that game. The one we don’t talk about.

Late October - November, and January - February look BRUTAL

There are tough patches in every league schedule, but if you want to circle a couple of key points of the season next year, look at late October through November, and then again January into February 2018. Beginning October 21, Spurs host Liverpool, travel to Old Trafford, host Crystal Palace, and then play an away North London Derby in consecutive weeks. That’s a tough stretch.

But that’s nothing compared to January-Feburary, which will see Spurs play Everton, at Southampton, Manchester United, at Liverpool, Arsenal, and at Palace. If Spurs are going to be title contenders, that’s a stretch in which they will need to do well.

The holiday fixture period looks crammed, as usual

Spurs got somewhat of a reprieve last year from the insane holiday fixture period thanks to the kindness of the scheduling gods and that they were knocked out of the League Cup early. But this year, Spurs are scheduled to play four games in nine days, a staggering example of fixture congestion. Between December 23 and New Year’s Day, Spurs will play at Burnley, whill host Southampton and West Ham, and play Swansea in Wales. Thankfully there are no top six teams in that stretch, but Spurs will need to dig deep and rotate to make it through that period.

The run-in looks pretty good

Between the start of April and the end of the season, Spurs play only one “top six” club, and it’s home to Manchester City on April 14. Otherwise, the run to the end of the season looks pretty manageable. Spurs close the year home to Leicester City.


What are your thoughts on Tottenham Hotspur’s 2017-18 fixture list? Are you pleased? Upset? Are there areas that worry you, and does this impact your expectations for Tottenham’s transfer window in any way? Have your say in the comments.