clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday football open thread

New, comments

Arsene is sad. Let’s see if he can get sadder.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Arsenal v Manchester United - Premier League Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Happy Sunday, Spurs fans. Yesterday sure was fun, wasn’t it? For you, maybe. I watched maybe 15 minutes of the match while at a sweaty high school pool for a (yet another) swim meet. But my daughter got a state cut, so we’ll be heading down to Indianapolis in a couple of weeks for another one, and I’m proud as punch.

There are two matches of note today that we will want to pay close attention to. The first is Arsenal at Brighton & Hove Albion, and it’s safe to say that morale at the Emirates is a little low at present. After two consecutive 3-0 drubbings by Manchester City, wouldn’t it be great if somehow they managed to slip on a banana peel at the FedEx today as well?

The late game is Manchester City hosting Chelsea, and I don’t mind telling you that I’d very much like to see City be City for at least another match and help widen the gap between Spurs and the Blues. In fact, let City win almost every game for the rest of the season for all I care (except for when we play them). Just win today.

Here’s your match thread.

Brighton & Hove Albion vs. Arsenal
8:30 a.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. GMT
TV: NBC Sports Network (USA), Sky Sports Premier League/Main Event
Stream: NBCSN, fubo

Manchester City vs. Chelsea
11:00 a.m. ET / 4 p.m. GMT
TV: NBC Sports Network (USA), Sky Sports Premier League/Main Event
Stream: NBCSN, fubo