clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday football open thread

New, comments

Or, “How a Tottenham Fan Came to Root for Liverpool”

Liverpool v Chelsea - Premier League Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

* record scratch *

* freeze frame*

...Yes, that’s me. You’re probably wondering how I ended up in this predicament. It all started after Tottenham lost to bottom of the table West Brom...


So going into yesterday’s match, I was all Team Draw when it came to the big match of today, Chelsea vs. Liverpool. After all, Spurs were GOING to beat West Brom, leap ahead of Liverpool in the table, and cruise to third. Done and dusted, right?

Welp.

So today, us Spurs fans are in the unenviable position of needing Liverpool to do us a solid and beat Chelsea at Stamford Bridge. Yes, yes, I know that even if Chelsea wins the math gets a little complicated because then both Liverpool and Spurs are both competing with Chelsea for the final two slots, both of which are open. But it’d be a heck of a lot easier if the Reds would just win today, we cede third entirely, and go on to beat Newcastle and/or Leicester.

This is your open thread for that game and the other two, one of which kicks off imminently. It’s also the final match of the Championship, and the playoff situation is bonkers. Keep an eye on the Cardiff-Reading and Fulham-Birmingham games, as it will determine who promotes automatically and who ends up in the playoffs.

Talk amongst yourselves.

Sunday Premier League Match Schedule

  • Huddersfield vs. Manchester City — 8:30 am ET (1:30 pm BST) | NBCSN
  • Arsenal vs. Burnley — 11:30 am ET (4:30 pm BST) | CNBC
  • Chelsea vs. Liverpool — 11:30 am ET (4:30 pm BST) | NBCSN