clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Cup 2018 Day 3 open thread: France vs. Australia, Argentina vs. Iceland, Peru vs. Denmark, Croatia vs. Nigeria

New, comments

That’s four! Four World Cup matches today! Ah-ah-ah! *thunder*

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Sweden v France - FIFA 2018 World Cup Qualifier Photo by Nils Petter Nilsson/Ombrello/Getty Images

Happy weekend, Tottenham Hotspur fans! Boy that was a lot of football yesterday. Wanna know what today brings? EVEN MORE FOOTBALL. Four matches today, and it starts wicked early here in the United States.

Pace yourselves, please. You don’t want to sprain your football muscles so soon after the tournament starts.

The games and how to watch:

France vs. Australia — 6:00 am ET, 11 am BST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA) | BBC 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | BBC iPlayer (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Argentina vs. Iceland, 9:00 am ET, 2 pm BST
TV: FOX (USA) | ITV 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | ITV Hub (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Peru vs. Denmark, 12:00 pm ET, 5 pm BST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA) | BBC 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | BBC iPlayer (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Croatia vs. Nigera, 3 pm ET, 8 pm BST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA) | ITV 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | ITV Hub (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Any Spurs players involved?

You bet! Hugo Lloris will captain France in goal against the Aussies Aussies Aussies (Oy Oy Oy) in the early match. Later in the day, Christian Eriksen will lead Denmark against Peru.

How about former Spurs?

A good number, actually. Former Tottenham player and academy grad Massimo Luongo is on the Australia side. Federico Fazio is with Argentina. Don’t forget Gylfi Sigurdsson, Iceland’s best player. Luka Modric & Vedran Corluka are both long-time members of Croatia, and Nigeria’s William Troost-Ekong is another former Spurs academy graduate who has moved on.

Any transfer targets or rival players I’m probably interested in?

Croatia’s Mateo Kovacic is a (very unlikely) Spurs target in this window, and there are a lot of CFCers who are really into Marcelo Brozovic. Otherwise, there are tons of recognizable names in the France and Argentina squads. Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi and Leicester’s Kelechi Iheanacho both play for Nigeria.

What cool things has SB Nation posted recently?

I’m glad you asked!