clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Cup 2018 Day 4 open thread: CRC-SER, GER-MEX, BRA-SWI

New, comments

Featuring future Tottenham Hotspur forward Neymar.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Austria v Brazil - International Friendly Photo by Laszlo Balogh/Getty Images

It’s Day 4 of the World Cup, and you know what that means, right? You bet! More football! “Only” three games tomorrow, but they could be fun ones. The highlight is Germany vs. Mexico, but we’ll also get to see Brazil in action. And since they spent time at Tottenham Hotspur’s training ground ahead of the World Cup, that makes them basically Spurs players now, right? I don’t make the rules. I look forward to signing Neymar this summer.

The games and how to watch:

Costa Rica vs. Serbia — 8:00 am ET, 1 pm BST
TV: FOX (USA) | ITV 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | ITV Hub (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Germany vs. Mexico — 11 am ET, 4 pm BST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA) | BBC 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | BBC iPlayer (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Brazil vs. Switzerland, 2 pm ET, 7 pm BST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA) | ITV 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | ITV Hub (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Any Spurs players involved?

Not today, sorry.

How about former Spurs?

Remember Milos Veljkovic? The Spurs academy grad is now a reserve center back for Serbia. Former Spurs party-boy Giovani Dos Santos, whom Harry Redknapp hated and never played, is still playing for Mexico. And of course, nobody can forget Paulinho, who flamed out at Spurs before resurrecting his career in China and is now a starter at Barcelona.

Any transfer targets or rival players I’m probably interested in?

Spurs are obviously going to sign Neymar after wooing him with their awesome training facilities. Serbia has Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, who is high on the lists of pretty much every club that needs a central midfielder this summer. That’s pretty much it as far as targets. Keep an eye on Chucky Lozano for Mexico, who is both a very good player and also has a name that sounds like a New York City pool shark.

What cool things has SB Nation posted recently?

I’m glad you asked!