clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Cup 2018 Day 6 open thread: Colombia-Japan, Poland-Senegal, Russia-Egypt

New, comments

Today, it’s Davinson Sanchez’s turn to shine.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

France v Colombia - International Friendly Photo by Aurelien Meunier/Getty Images

Welcome to Day 6 of the World Cup! By the end of today every team will have played one match, and two teams will have played two. Does it feel like it’s going fast? It seems that way to me.

The games and how to watch:

Colombia vs. Japan — 8:00 am ET, 1 pm BST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA) | BBC 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | BBC iPlayer (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Poland vs. Senegal — 11 am ET, 4 pm BST
TV: FOX (USA) | ITV 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | ITV Hub (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Russia vs. Egypt, 2 pm ET, 7 pm BST
TV: FOX (USA) | BBC 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | BBC iPlayer (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Any Spurs players involved?

Davinson Sanchez will anchor the Colombia back line against Japan today.

How about former Spurs?

No other former Tottenham players are playing today, sorry.

Any transfer targets or rival players I’m probably interested in?

Depending on who you believe, Spurs are possibly interested (and also close to signing) Colombian defensive midfielder Wilmar Barrios. Today would be an excellent chance to pay close attention to him. Mo Salah didn’t play in Egypt’s first match, but he could against Russia in a game that Egypt would love to win. Japan’s Kaisuke Honda has been around for what feels like forever; he’s 32 now, is now with Pachuca in Liga MX, and is in his third World Cup.

What cool things has SB Nation posted recently?

I’m glad you asked!