clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Cup 2018 Day 8 open thread: Denmark-Australia, France-Peru, Argentina-Croatia

New, comments

Christian Eriksen and Hugo Lloris are back at it today!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Peru v Denmark: Group C - 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Roll on World Cup! Christian Eriksen and Hugo Lloris can both progress to the second round with wins today with Denmark and France, respectively. And wouldn’t that be lovely?

The games and how to watch:

Denmark vs. Australia — 8:00 am ET, 1 pm BST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA) | ITV 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | ITV Hub (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

France vs. Peru — 11 am ET, 4 pm BST
TV: FOX (USA) | ITV 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | ITV Hub (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Argentina vs. Croatia, 2 pm ET, 7 pm BST
TV: FOX (USA) | BBC 1 (UK) | other listings on livesoccertv.com
Streaming: Fox Sports Go, Telemundo (USA - Spanish, available through NBC Sports Live) | BBC iPlayer (UK) | fubo.tv (free trial)

Any Spurs players involved?

Christian Eriksen is pretty much The Man™ for Denmark, and he can prove it with another strong showing against Australia today. Elsewhere, France will want to bounce back against Peru with a stronger showing than they showed against Australia; Hugo Lloris will captain the side.

How about former Spurs?

Federico Fazio is a bench player for Argentina, while Massimo Luongo also is a reserve for Australia. Luka Modric and Vedran Corluka both start for Croatia.

Any transfer targets or rival players I’m probably interested in?

ALERT ALERT ALERT as Mateo Kovacic has said he wants to leave Real Madrid, but it’s probably just a play for a new contract, so don’t get excited. Tin Jedvaj was also strongly linked with Spurs when he was a youngster a few years ago before he eventually signed with Roma.

What cool things has SB Nation posted recently?

I’m glad you asked!