clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday Football Open Thread

New, comments

The big game is City vs. Arsenal — and I’m not telling you who to root for, sorry.

Tottenham Hotspur v Newcastle United - Premier League Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Happy Sunday, Spurs fans. So you thought yesterday was a fun day of matches? Hoo buddy, today could be even better. If things break correctly for Spurs, they could finish the day the way they began it — in second place, four behind Liverpool.

Two big games today. Leicester host Manchester United in the early match, and Manchester City host Arsenal in the late one. If City wins, as expected, Spurs drop back down to third but maintain their current ten point lead over the Gooners in fifth. If Arsenal wins, Spurs stay in second place and it makes the race for fourth that much more interesting as Arsenal and Chelsea will be level with points. They could also draw, which drops Spurs to third on goal differential, but might end up being the best result for Spurs on balance.

Look, I’m not going to tell you who to root for. All I’m saying is that I won’t tell if you won’t, ok? Your secret is safe with me, honest.

Here’s your open thread for the Sunday games. The usual match rules apply.

Sunday Premier League schedule

  • Leicester City vs. Manchester United — 9:05 a.m. ET, 2:05 p.m. UK | NBCSN, Sky Sports
  • Manchester City vs. Arsenal — 11:30 a.m. ET, 4:30 p.m. UK | NBCSN, Sky Sports