clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Juan Foyth replaces Mousa Dembele in Tottenham’s Champions League squad to face Dortmund

Foyth’s addition means Spurs will have another option at the back.

Crystal Palace v Tottenham Hotspur - Premier League Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

Mauricio Pochettino called it a “mistake we made that at this level of football we cannot repeat again” when he left Juan Foyth out of Spurs’ Champions League squad for the group stage.

Foyth had to be excluded because Tottenham could only select 17 non-locally trained players for the squad. Mousa Dembele has since left the club for China, so now there’s a spot for Foyth.

On Tuesday, it was confirmed by UEFA that Spurs had added Foyth to the squad to replace Dembele. The 21-year-old Argentinian is the last of those 17 foreign players to be registered.

There still isn’t a place in the squad for Vincent Janssen, who Pochettino recently said may soon be back in the team.

Foyth and company will be tasked with trying to help Tottenham reach their second Champions League quarterfinal ever. In 2011, Spurs reached the quarters via a 1-0 win over AC Milan in the round of 16. Gareth Bale, Luka Modric, and Rafael van der Vaart all played big parts in that European cup run.

Borussia Dortmund, the current leaders of the Bundesliga, stand in the way. BVB have also made some changes to their squad. They’ve added youngsters Leonardo Balerdi and Herbert Bockhorn to replace Shinji Kagawa and Jeremy Toljan, who have both been sent out on loan.

The first leg between Spurs and Dortmund will take place on February 13th at Wembley.

Here’s Tottenham’s full squad for the next round of the Champions League.


  • Hugo Lloris
  • Michel Vorm
  • Paulo Gazzaniga


  • Kieran Trippier
  • Serge Aurier
  • Ben Davies
  • Danny Rose
  • Toby Alderweireld
  • Jan Vertonghen
  • Davinson Sanchez
  • Juan Foyth


  • Eric Dier
  • Victor Wanyama
  • Harry Winks
  • Mousa Sissoko
  • Dele Alli
  • Christian Eriksen
  • Erik Lamela


  • Harry Kane
  • Son Heung-Min
  • Lucas Moura
  • Fernando Llorente