clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

International Roundup: how Tottenham players performed with their national teams

New, comments

Time to check in on how our Traveling Hotspurs got on in international duty.

Getty Images

It’s the international break so the matches are coming thick and fast. While there are a lot of Tottenham Hotspur players who have yet to play, a couple were in action yesterday. Here’s how they did!

Thursday’s Matches

Christian Eriksen

Eriksen was, improbably, a 60th minute substitute in Denmark’s 2-2 friendly draw with Kosovo. Eriksen also scored a penalty three minutes after coming on. Spurs target Joachim Andersen was an unused substitute.

Jan Vertonghen & Toby Alderweireld

Tottenham’s Belgian bros both started and played 90 mintues as part of a Roberto Martinez back three as Belgium defeated Russia 3-1 away in their EURO 2020 Group 1 qualification match. Eden Hazard scored two goals and ostensible Spurs target Youri Tielemans scored another. Thibaut Courtois also had an absolute howler that you should really go look up online.

Anthony Georgiou

Tottenham’s young academy graduate, currently on loan at Levante, started in midfield and earned an assist for Cyprus en route to a 5-0 EURO qualification win over San Marino.

Davinson Sanchez

Details are minimal, but Davinson started for Colombia this morning in a 1-0 friendly win over Japan in Yokohama.

Son Heung-Min

Sonny started, but didn’t score, in a 1-0 South Korea win over Bolivia, also this morning.

Upcoming Matches

Moldova vs. France (EURO Qualification) — Friday, 3:45 pm ET (7:45 pm UK)

Hugo Lloris is set to start in goal for the World Cup champions. Moussa Sissoko is also in the squad.

Argentina vs. Venezuela (Friendly) — Friday, 4 pm ET (8 pm UK)

Juan Foyth is in the Argentina squad for this friendly, strangely being played in Madrid.

England vs. Czech Republic (EURO Qualification) — Friday, 3:45 p.m. ET (7:45 p.m. UK)

We don’t know the lineup, but we know Harry Kane, Kieran Trippier, Eric Dier, Dele, and Danny Rose are all involved.

Wales vs. Slovakia (EURO Qualification) — Sunday, 10 am ET (2 pm UK)

Ben Davies will play, likely as a central defender.

Cyprus vs. Belgium (EURO Qualification) — Sunday, 3:45 pm ET (7:45 pm UK)

Anthony Georgiou’s Cyprus will face off against Jan Vertonghen and Toby Alderweireld in a Euro clash.