clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday football open thread

New, comments

Liverpool vs. Chelsea highlights the Sunday Premier League action.

Everton FC v Chelsea FC - Premier League Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

Happy Sunday, Spurs fans! For those of you who are Christian believers, it’s Palm Sunday, the week before Easter and the day we celebrate Christ’s return to Jerusalem, riding on a donkey. In the Premier League today, the biggest match is Liverpool vs. Chelsea. I’m not saying who is the donkey in this particular analogy.

As Tottenham Hotspur fans, we are predisposed not to like either of these clubs, and this particular match has not only implications for the title but also the top four. I’m not telling you that you have to root for Liverpool, but I’m just saying that if Chelsea were to lose this one it would go a long way towards helping Spurs finish in the top four. Sometimes you have to make hard decisions for the greater good. That’s all I’m saying.

Manchester City, meanwhile, face a potentially tricky road trip to Crystal Palace, and by virtue of typing the first part of this sentence I have doomed Palace to an inevitable 5-0 loss. Sorry, Palace fans.

This is your open thread. Tawk amongst yowrsehlves, it’s Cawfee Tawlk, no big whoop.

Sunday Premier League schedule

Crystal Palace vs. Manchester City — 9:05 am ET, 2:05 pm UK

Liverpool vs. Chelsea — 11:30 am ET, 4:30 pm UK