clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Cup Day 4: ARG-JAP, CAN-CMR

New, comments

Roll on Group D!

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

2019 SheBelieves Cup - United States v Japan Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

It’s Monday, and the football just keeps coming. The United States doesn’t play until tomorrow, but we have their near neighbors Canada in action against Cameroon. The early game features Argentina, in the World Cup for the first time since 2007 against a rebuilding and younger Japan.

Daily reading

What to Watch For

There are a number of players you should keep an eye on in this World Cup, but one of the biggest is Canada’s Christine Sinclair, who has scored 181 international goals, second in the world behind USA’s Abby Wambach (284). She’s real good, but Canada may not be.

Japan won the World Cup back in 2011, but this is a transitional cycle with a bunch of new, young players. They may not go too far in this World Cup but could be a force in 2023. They’ll face a stiff test against an Argentina side led by former Washington Spirit forward (now Levante) Estefania Banini.

Match Schedule & How to Watch (Monday, June 10, 2019)

Argentina vs. Japan (Group D)
12 pm USA, 5 pm UK, 6 pm pm Paris
Parc des Princes (Paris)
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA); NBC Universo (USA - Spanish); BBC Sport Live (UK)
Streaming: Fox Sports Go (cable authentication), Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (Spanish), fuboTV (free trial) *

Canada vs. Cameroon (Group E)
9:30 a.m. ET, 2:30 p.m. UK, 3:30 p.m. Paris
Stade de la Mosson (Montpellier)
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA); NBC Universo (USA - Spanish); BBC Sport Live
Streaming: Fox Sports Go (cable authentication), Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (Spanish), fuboTV (free trial) *

* Cartilage Free Captain has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Carty Free and SB Nation may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links. For more information, see our guiding principles.

In Non-World Cup Action

EURO 2020 qualifiers continue today with a whole slate of games, all at 2:45 pm ET, 7:45 pm UK. Here are the matches. Christian Eriksen, of course, will play for Denmark against Georgia. Find your favorite match on television at livesoccertv.com.

  • Bulgaria vs. Kosovo (Group A)
  • Czech Republic vs. Montenegro (Group A)
  • Serbia vs. Lithuania (Group B)
  • Ukraine vs. Luxembourg (Group B)
  • Denmark vs. Georgia (Group D)
  • Ireland vs. Gibraltar (Group D)
  • Faroe Islands vs. Norway (Group F)
  • Malta vs. Romania (Group F)
  • Spain vs. Sweden (Group F)
  • Latvia vs. Slovenia (Group G)
  • North Macedonia vs. Austria (Group G)
  • Poland vs. Israel (Group G)