clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Open thread: World Cup day 3, Nations League finals

New, comments

It’s ENGERLAAAAAND as both the women and men play.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

England’s Nikita Parris
FIFA via Getty Images

Happy Sunday, Spurs fans! It’s Day 3 of World Cup 2019 and today we get to see England in action for the first time, taking on Scotland. Weird that two home nations were drawn together in the same group, but that might just give this match a little bit more “spice.”

Daily reading

What to Watch For

Of the most interest to our readership is likely England-Scotland. The Scottish women are probably better than the men are respectively, but England will want to put a marker down as one of the favorites not only in their group but in the tournament.

If you don’t know much about women’s football, you’ve probably heard of Brazil’s Marta. Well, she’s injured, but Brazil will take on a Jamaica team that features a player named Bunny, was saved by Bob Marley’s daughter after the team was disbanded in 2014, and that is in its first Women’s World Cup.

Match Schedule & How to Watch (Saturday, June 8, 2019)

Australia vs. Italy (Group C)
7 am USA, noon UK, 1 pm Paris
Stade du Hainaut (Valenciennes)
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA); Telemundo (USA - Spanish); BBC Sport Live (UK)
Streaming: Fox Sports Go (cable authentication), Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (Spanish), fuboTV (free trial) *

Brazil vs. Jamaica (Group C)
9:30 a.m. ET, 2:30 p.m. UK, 3:30 p.m. Paris
Stade des Alpes (Grenoble)
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA); Telemundo (USA - Spanish); BBC Sport Live
Streaming: Fox Sports Go (cable authentication), Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (Spanish), fuboTV (free trial) *

England vs. Scotland (Group D)
12 pm ET, 5 pm UK, 6 pm Paris
Allianz Riviera (Nice)
TV: FOX (USA); Telemundo (USA - Spanish); BBC One
Streaming: Fox Sports Go (cable authentication), Telemundo Deportes En Vivo (Spanish), fuboTV (free trial) *

* Cartilage Free Captain has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Carty Free and SB Nation may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links. For more information, see our guiding principles.

In Non-World Cup Action

Hey, there’s non-World Cup football on too, including the third place match and finals of the Nations League! England will face Switzerland in the Irrelevancy Bowl, while Portugal and the Netherlands will square off for the title.

England vs. Switzerland (Nations League third place game)
9:00 a.m. ET, 2:00 pm UK
TV: ESPN2 (USA), Sky Sports (UK)

Portugal vs. the Netherlands (Nations League finals)
2:45 p.m. ET, 7:45 p.m. UK
TV: ESPN (USA), Sky Sports (UK)