clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Spurs Women to play Arsenal at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium

New, comments

The WSL fixture list is out, and Tottenham Hotspur Women will have at least one match in the new stadium.

Getty Images

Tottenham Hotspur Women released its preliminary fixture list for its first full season in the WSL today, and there’s a big surprise in store for Spurs fans. In addition to playing their opening match away to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on September 8, Spurs will also host Arsenal for the first ever WSL North London Derby on Sun. November 17 at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.

That’s a pretty big thrill! Arsenal are one of the three English women’s superpower teams along with Manchester City and Chelsea, and Spurs will need to play extremely well to beat them — the last time Spurs played Arsenal two seasons ago in the FA Cup they lost 10-0. That said, Spurs should be a much better team now, and playing at the new stadium should provide an incredible atmosphere for the team and the fans who show up. Spurs previously announced that they will play their home fixtures at the 4000-seater The Hive Stadium in Edgware this season, moving from their previous home of Cheshunt.

Overall the schedule looks pretty balanced, though Spurs have a tough run-in, hosting Chelsea and having to travel to Manchester City and Liverpool in three of their last four matches of the season. There are no easy games in the WSL, and Spurs’ primary aim will be to stay up.

Here’s the full list of fixtures and times. Does not include cup competition fixtures. All are subject to change. Times listed as UK.

Tottenham Hotspur Women fixtures 2019-20

Date Team Time (UK)
Date Team Time (UK)
Sun, Sep 8, 2019 @ Chelsea (Stamford Bridge) 12:30 PM
Sun, Sep 15, 2019 LIVERPOOL 2:00 PM
Sun, Sep 29, 2019 @ West Ham 3:00 PM
Sun, Oct 13, 2019 MANCHESTER UNITED 3:00 PM
Sun, Oct 27, 2019 @ Bristol City 3:00 PM
Sun, Nov 17, 2019 ARSENAL (Tottenham Hotspur Stadium) 2:00 PM
Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ Everton 12:30 PM
Sun, Dec 1, 2019 @ Birmingham City 2:00 PM
Sun, Dec 8, 2019 BRIGHTON 2:00 PM
Sun, Dec 15, 2019 @ Reading 2:00 PM
Sun, Jan 5, 2020 MANCHESTER CITY 2:00 PM
Sun, Jan 12, 2020 WEST HAM 2:00 PM
Sun, Jan 19, 2020 @ Manchester United 12:00 PM
Sun, Feb 2, 2020 BRISTOL CITY 2:00 PM
Sun, Feb 9, 2020 @ Arsenal 2:00 PM
Wed, Feb 12, 2020 EVERTON 7:30 PM
Sun, Feb 23, 2020 @ Brighton 2:00 PM
Sun, Mar 22, 2020 BIRMINGHAM CITY 2:00 PM
Sun, Mar 29, 2020 CHELSEA 2:00 PM
Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ Liverpool 2:00 PM
Sun, Apr 26, 2020 @ Manchester City 2:00 PM
Sat, May 16, 2020 READING 2:00 PM