clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Homegrown, foreign, and U21 players: Tottenham Hotspur 2020-21 squad breakdown

Manchester United v Tottenham Hotspur - Premier League Photo by Tottenham Hotspur FC/Tottenham Hotspur FC via Getty Images

With the transfer window closed, Tottenham Hotspur’s squad for the 2020-21 is locked in. 31 players make up the group that will compete across four competitions this season, with the squad mostly compliant across all four tournaments.

Overall, the team has 18 foreign players and eight homegrowns, including four who are association trained, while the remaining four are on the B list of U-21 players. The squad is fully compliant in domestic competitions; Premier League squads are usually of 25 players, not including an unlimited amount of U-21 players, and allow for up to 17 foreign players.

The wrinkle comes with UEFA’s different definition of a homegrown player. While the FA counts any homegrown players for Welsh teams in the English pyramid as homegrown players, UEFA does not make that exception. That means once again, Ben Davies is a foreign player for European competition; it also means that one foreign player will have to be excluded from the Europa League roster.

Here’s a breakdown of the squad:


Association trained: Cameron Carter-Vickers**, Ben Davies*, Matt Doherty, Joe Hart, Danny Rose**, Alfie Whiteman
Club trained: Gareth Bale, Dele, Harry Kane, Harry Winks

Foreign: Toby Alderweireld, Serge Aurier, Steven Bergwijn, Eric Dier, Gedson Fernandes, Paulo Gazzaniga, Pierre-Emile Højbjerg, Érik Lamela, Hugo Lloris, Giovani Lo Celso, Lucas Moura, Tanguy Ndombele, Sergio Reguilón, Davinson Sánchez, Moussa Sissoko, Son Heung-min, Carlos Vinícius

U21: Brandon Austin, Jack Clarke, Dennis Cirkin, Alfie Devine, Japhet Tanganga, Harvey White

*foreign player for UEFA competitions

**player without a squad number this season