clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jose Mourinho adds Troy Parrott, drops Victor Wanyama from Champions League squad

A few minor tweaks.


After qualifying out of the group stages again this season, Tottenham Hotspur have been given the opportunity to revise their Champions League squad and declare who is eligible to play in the upcoming matches against RB Leipzig and (hopefully) more going forward.

As per usual, there are two lists. List A comprises a maximum of 25 players, two of which must be goalkeepers, and of which eight are reserved for “locally-trained” players — players who have been on the books at the club between age 15-21, or who were trained by another club in the same association for three years within that same age range. List B, by contrast, contains players born after 1998 who have been at the club for at least two years.

There aren’t that many differences from the first list submitted back in September. There are the obvious changes — Danny Rose and Christian Eriksen are both omitted having moved clubs. Steven Bergwijn and Gedson Fernandes now join the list. Jose Mourinho also confirmed today that Troy Parrott, having turned 18 today and thus completing two consecutive years at the club, has been included on Spurs’ List B, which is exciting even if we don’t actually see him play.

However, it’s bad news for Victor Wanyama, who was left off the Champions League list at the discretion of the gaffer. Big Vic is omitted for Michel Vorm, which means that Spurs now have four keepers on their Champions League roster, if you include Alfie Whiteman.

It’s harsh on Wanyama, but considering that Spurs have pretty much moved on from him already, there doesn’t seem to be any chance that he’d see the pitch even if he were included.

Here’s the full list.

List A

  • Toby Alderweireld
  • Dele Alli
  • Serge Aurier
  • Steven Bergwijn
  • Ben Davies
  • Eric Dier
  • Gedson Fernandes
  • Paulo Gazzaniga
  • Harry Kane
  • Eric Lamela
  • Hugo Lloris
  • Giovani Lo Celso
  • Lucas Moura
  • Tanguy Ndombele
  • Davinson Sanchez
  • Ryan Sessegnon
  • Moussa Sissoko
  • Son Heung-Min
  • Jan Vertonghen
  • Michel Vorm
  • Harry Winks

List B

  • Jamie Bowden
  • Timothy Eyoma
  • Juan Foyth
  • Troy Parrott
  • Oliver Skipp
  • Japhet Tanganga
  • Harvey White
  • Alfie Whiteman