clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

BIG ASS GERMAN SATURDAY FOOTBALL OPEN THREAD

New, comments

OMG FOOTBALL

In this photo illustration a Bundesliga logo seen displayed... Photo Illustration by Rafael Henrique/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images

Look, I’m not going to tell you that you need to watch the Bundesliga today. Obviously we all have our opinions on whether it’s a good idea or even the responsible thing for Germany to start playing professional football matches in the middle of a pandemic. Different countries have been handling things differently. I have my opinions, you probably have yours, and I wouldn’t begrudge anyone if they decided not to watch.

But you know what? FOOTBALL IS BACK and it’s honestly pretty exciting, because it’s been two months. That’s just about the length of the summer offseason, and I miss it so much, y’all.

So this is an open thread for German football, because German football is still football. The games are below, and you can use this as an open thread to discuss them as they happen. I’d ask, however, that we be nice to each other in the comments. Let’s not chide people for enjoying something that has been missing from our lives for a long time.

And if you ARE watching, a discussion question: of all the Bundesliga clubs, which one is the most Tottenham? (My vote goes to Schalke.)

Bundesliga Saturday schedule

Borussia Dortmund vs. Schalke
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: Fox Sports 1 (USA), BT Sport 1 (UK)
Stream: Foxsports.com, Fox Soccer Match Pass

RB Leipzig vs. Freiburg
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: Fox Sports 2 (USA), BT Sport 2 (UK)
Stream: Foxsports.com, Fox Soccer Match Pass

Hoffenheim vs. Hertha Berlin
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: not televised (USA), BT Sport 3 (UK)
Stream: Fox Soccer Match Pass

Fortuna Dusseldorf vs. Paderborn
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: not televised (USA), BT Sport Extra (UK)
Stream: Fox Soccer Match Pass

Augsburg vs. Wolfburg
9:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. BST / 3:30 p.m. CEST
TV: Fox Soccer Plus (USA), not televised (UK)
Stream: Fox Soccer Match Pass

Eintracht Frankfurt vs. Borussia Monchengladbach
12:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. BST / 6:30 p.m. CEST
TV: Fox Sports 1, BT Sport 1
Stream: Foxsports.com, Fox Soccer Match Pass