clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday football open thread

New, comments

MERSEYSIDE DERBY

Everton Training Match Photo by Tony McArdle/Everton FC via Getty Images

Happy Sunday, y’all! How’s your mum? Good?

We’ve got more football in these, the After Times, today. It’s highlighted, obviously, by the Merseyside Derby between Everton and Liverpool. Which sounds interesting because derbies are supposed to be good, but Everton hasn’t actually beaten Liverpool since October 2010, so don’t go getting too excited — you’ll pull something.

Liverpool can actually (and finally) win the league this weekend if they beat Everton and if Manchester City somehow lose to Burnley tomorrow. Honestly, I wouldn’t mind if that just happened so we can get all the fawning over 30 YEARS WITH NO TITLE out of the way and move on. It’s gonna happen, let’s rip off the band-aid.

Anyway, this is your open thread.

Sunday Premier League schedule

Newcastle United vs. Sheffield United
9 am ET | 2 pm BST
TV: NBCSN (USA), Sky Sports (UK)
Stream: NBC Sports Live

Aston Villa vs. Chelsea
11:15 a.m. ET | 4:15 p.m. BST
TV: NBCSN (USA), Sky Sports (UK)
Stream: NBC Sports Live

Everton vs. Liverpool
2 pm ET | 7 pm BST
TV: NBCSN (USA), Sky Sports (UK)
Stream: NBC Sports Live