clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Weekend Premier League Open Thread

New, comments

This weekend could tell us a lot about where Tottenham will finish the season.

FBL-ENG-PR-LEEDS Photo by PAUL ELLIS/AFP via Getty Images

We’re nearly at the end of July and the Premier League is STILL going on. Thanks, coronavirus. However, with just two match weeks remaining, it’s crunch time for not only Tottenham Hotspur but also all the other teams with something left to play for. Spurs can no longer qualify for the Champions League — the highest they can finish now is sixth — but they can still finish ahead of Wolves, Sheffield United, and most importantly Arsenal.

There’s also the FA Cup semifinal to think about, between the Gunners and Manchester City. Arsenal can still play spoiler to Spurs, if Tottenham finish seventh and Arsenal win the FA Cup.

And if you’re curious, check out the Championship, which is absolutely bonkers right now. Leeds United just promoted to the top flight for the first time since 2003, but there’s still a ton to play for at both the top and the bottom of the table.

This is your open thread for the NON-Tottenham matches. Spurs will get their own.

Premier League weekend schedule

Saturday

Norwich City vs. Burnley
12:30 p.m. ET | 5:30 p.m. BST
TV: NBC, Sky Sports
Stream: NBC Sports Live

Sunday

Bournemouth vs. Southampton
7:30 a.m. ET | 12:30 p.m. BST
TV: NBCSN (USA), BT Sport 1 (UK)
Stream: NBC Sports Live

FA Cup

Saturday

Arsenal vs. Manchester City (Semi-Final)
2:45 p.m. ET | 7:45 p.m. BST
TV: not televised (USA), BT Sport 1 (UK)
Stream: ESPN+

Sunday

Manchester United vs. Chelsea (Semi-Final)
1 p.m. ET | 6 p.m. BST
TV: not televised (USA), BBC One (UK)
Stream: ESPN+

Championship

Stoke City vs. Brentford
7:30 a.m. ET | 12:30 p.m. BST
TV: Not televised
Stream: ESPN+

Brentford are pushing for the second automatic promotion spot and can jump ahead of West Brom with a win over Stoke with one game to play.