clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BREAKING: Nine European Super League clubs formally renounce breakaway league, UEFA announces their punishments

The six English clubs are part of the nine who re-committed to UEFA

Chelsea v Real Madrid - UEFA Champions League - Semi Final - Second Leg - Stamford Bridge Photo by Steve Parsons/PA Images via Getty Images

Nine of the 12 clubs that were part of the breakaway European Super League have formally renounced it and have re-committed to working with UEFA. The nine clubs are AC Milan, Arsenal, Atlético Madrid, Chelsea, Inter Milan, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur.

These nine clubs will face punishment from UEFA for their attempt to break away, namely that their prize money for their next season in Europe will be reduced by 5% and redistributed to the other participating clubs. Each club would face a fine of €100 million if they attempt to break away again.

The clubs have also committed to rejoining the European Club Association, and each club will “provide individual commitments to UEFA in which all the principles and values set out in the 2019 Memorandum of Understanding between UEFA and the European Club Association are accepted.”

Before the news became official, The New York Times reported that nine clubs formally leaving is enough to cause the liquidation of the company created for the Super League. The report also says that liquidation was required by UEFA to “put the entire chapter to rest.”

FC Barcelona, Juventus, and Real Madrid did not join the other nine, and are set to face stronger punishment than the others. As a result, they will be referred to UEFA’s disciplinary bodies for sanctions.

Most domestic bodies have yet to decide punishments for any of the breakaway clubs, though the Italian FA can now officially rescind membership from clubs who attempt to break away. The New York Times, though, reports the Premier League’s decision is expected within days.