clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pierre-Emile Højbjerg makes Euro 2020 team of the tournament

He’s the lone player from semifinalist Denmark

England v Denmark - UEFA Euro 2020 - Semi Final - Wembley Stadium Photo by Mike Egerton/PA Images via Getty Images

After helping Denmark reach the Euro 2020 semifinals, Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Pierre-Emile Højbjerg was named to UEFA’s team of the tournament.

He played every minute of Denmark’s journey to the semifinals in his first major tournament with the national team. The tournament started on a difficult note for Denmark, losing the opening two matches to Finland and Belgium. Højbjerg missed a penalty in the team’s opener, a 1-0 loss to Finland; that match was stopped and then restarted after Christian Eriksen’s medical emergency.

Denmark rebounded to finish second in Group B when it beat Russia 4-1, a game in which Højbjerg recorded two assists. The team then went on a dominant run, beating Wales 4-0 in the Round of 16 and the Czech Republic 2-1 in the quarterfinals. Denmark kept things close in the semifinal against England, but lost 2-1 after extra time.

Højbjerg is the only Danish player to make UEFA’s team of the tournament. Five total national teams are represented, and five members of the Italy team that won the title made the cut.

The team of the tournament was voted on by UEFA’s technical observers; the members of that group can be found here. The full team of the tournament is below.

UEFA Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy); Kyle Walker (England), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Harry Maguire (England), Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy); Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Denmark), Jorginho (Italy), Pedri (Spain); Federico Chiesa (Italy), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Raheem Sterling (England)