clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Spurs finalize Champions League squad for knock-out rounds

And it’s about what you’d expect.

SSC Napoli v Rangers FC: Group A - UEFA Champions League - UEFA Champions League Photo by Franco Romano/NurPhoto via Getty Images

We spent a lot of time talking about Tottenham Hotspur and the supporters’ trust today, enough that a pretty important piece of news slipped past me. Apparently Tottenham released its updated roster for the knockout stages of the Champions League, as the change list was posted on UEFA’s website.

It’s about what you expect. There are three changes to Spurs’ roster from the group stages — newcomers Arnaut Danjuma and Pedro Porro are in, and supposedly so is reserve goalkeeper Alfie Whiteman, who is freshly returned from a loan to Degerfors in Sweden. Those roster spots were made possible by the departures of Bryan Gil, Djed Spence, and Matt Doherty. Harvey White is also no longer in the squad as he’s moved on loan to Derby County, though he was also on List B.

Porro is able to be registered for the Champions League because there’s no longer such thing as “cup tied” — the rules changed a few years ago so that three players can now be registered for the knock-out stages that had played for a different club in the group stages. Pretty neat!

Here’s a full list of Tottenham’s Champions League squad.


  • Hugo Lloris
  • Fraser Forster
  • Brandon Austin
  • Alfie Whiteman


  • Davinson Sanchez
  • Emerson Royal
  • Eric Dier
  • Cristian Romero
  • Ryan Sessgnon
  • Pedro Porro
  • Japhet Tanganga
  • Ben Davies
  • Clement Lenglet


  • Oliver Skipp
  • Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg
  • Son Heung-Min
  • Ivan Perisic
  • Arnaut Danjuma
  • Dejan Kulusevski
  • Pape Matar Sarr
  • Rodrigo Bentancur
  • Yves Bissouma


  • Richarlison
  • Harry Kane
  • Lucas Moura