clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mauricio Pochettino announces that 5 first team players didn't travel

Jan Kruger

Tottenham Hotspur are going to be making some sweeping changes to their squad for their UEFA Europa League match against Partizan Belgrade, with five starters from the weekend not making the trip.

Mauricio Pochettino was likely to introduce a lot of new players into the starting XI anyway, but all of Emmanuel Adebayor, Mousa Dembele, Danny Rose, Nacer Chadli and Younes Kaboul were apparently not going to make the 18-man squad and have not traveled.

This means that new signing Federico Fazio has traveled, and should be in contention to make his debut for Spurs. Hugo Lloris, Christian Eriksen and Erik Lamela traveling isn't surprising, but many would have liked them to be left at home. Eriksen and Lamela will be nice to have on the bench in case of an emergency, though hopefully that's unnecessary. And it's interesting that Pochettino didn't mention Lloris, Brad Friedel or Michel Vorm. Did three keepers travel?

The only starter who's more or less confirmed through the announced absentees is Ben Davies, who was always going to get the nod at left back. Playing time for Harry Kane and Roberto Soldado is assured, though it's not clear if just one or both of them will start. And any number of players could take over from Chadli, Kaboul and Dembele.